My Best Chili

dscn90802

  • 1 lb ground deer meat, venison
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 lb hot breakfast sausage
  • 1 large onion
  • 1 medium green bell pepper
  • 1 Tbsp ground cumin

Combine all above ingredients in large skillet and cook until meat is almost completely done.   In a large crock-pot stir in the following ingredients:

  • 2 cans dark red kidney beans
  • 1 can pinto beans
  • 1 can black frioles, beans
  • 1 can stewed tomato
  • 1 large can tomato paste (12oz)
  • 2 small cans sliced black olives
  • 1 & 1/2 packets of Williams Chili Seasoning (about 1 1/2oz)
  • 1 whole bunch of fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1 can Rotel
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 3 small green onions, chopped
  • 2 banana peppers (bell peppers work just as well

Stir all ingredients together and then add the meat form the skillet.  Set crock-pot to high for about the first hour bringing everything up to a boil and then reduce heat to low and let simmer stirring occasionally for another 2 – 4 hours (time may differ depending on your crock-pot).

Note:  YES, this is one of my best chili’s and no I haven’t entered any chili cook-offs to vouch for this recipe.  I can tell you though, that my dear sweet husband made sure to get the “Chili Seasoning” (I think to keep me from making it too hot).  I have made chili in the past that made everyone sweat while they were eating it.  And this one did turn out quit nice if I don’t say so my self.

Make sure to have some home-made cornbread or cheese herb bread to go with this, along with some Frito’s, grated sharp cheddar cheese or pepper jack cheese, sour cream and even some fresh chopped cilantro to garnish the top really adds a VERY nice touch!  And if someone in your house hold needs more “hot” make sure to put some Tabasco on the table and they can just go to town without making everyone else miserable.

One response to “My Best Chili

  1. Pingback: Cheese-Herb Bread « My Favorite Recipes blog

Leave a Reply

